1001: Background Characters

After being properly set the task today I decided to move away from the design of Queen Elizabeth and look into other characters.

In a review it was mentioned I could look into historical context and I decided to add elements of the Spanish Armada.

Below is a sketch page where I focused designs for the Ladies in Waiting and the Duke of Medina-

ladiesinwaiting

I referenced the below images when creating the work-

I wanted to add humour to it so I drew the Duke in board shorts and the Ladies as secret service style body guards.

I then created a really rough comparison/ reference chart

allcharas

In class discussions it was also mentioned that the recreation of the sport didn’t have to be a complete adaptation of the way it’s seen on TV so I thought I could make the character lift something other than a dumbbell.

I found this image of a character lifting another-

tumblr_o0ippsnak41qjssm1o1_1280

And my first thought was to have Elizabeth lift one of her ladies in waiting-

titleimage

But then I thought I could visualize the Spanish defeat and have her lift the Duke-

lift

These are all still random ideas as I need to script and storyboard the piece, but while I don’t have a structure to stick to I’m able to come up with a wide range of ideas.

2 thoughts on “1001: Background Characters

Leave a Reply

