1003: Creature Modelling

For project 1 we were set the task of designing a creature based on a written description. I chose Frankenstein’s monster and this is the extract I had to work with-

As an 8-foot-tall (2.4 m), hideously ugly creation, with translucent yellowish skin pulled so taut over the body
that it “barely disguised the workings of the arteries and muscles underneath”; watery, glowing eyes, flowing
black hair, black lips, and prominent white teeth. The monster attempts to integrate himself into human social
patterns, but is shunned by all who see him. This compels him to seek revenge against his creator.

I did two pages of work based on this without looking at references-

frankenstein1

I wasn’t too impressed with this so I decided to see how the monster is represented in pop culture and see what features from the book are used in the designs-

frankentseinrefs

From this I had a better idea of what i liked and wanted to work into my design.

I then created several body shapes using different basic shapes as the basis for each body part, like we had been doing in 2D animation.

frankensteinbodies

I like design 6 the best as it is less human than others and will work well with Maya.

I need to work into the designs more and do more development but I have a good starting part for the project.

Leave a Reply

