1001: posing

Working into my Queen Elizabeth character design more I decided to start adding weightlifting poses into my prep work.

I did three quick sketches of basic ideas I had without referencing-

weight

I was mostly looking at how I wanted to stretch the body and how I was going to bend the legs with such a large skirt.

I then looked at a lot of references of female Olympic weightlifters-

weightreference

I realized most of them lifted while squatting, so in my movie I might make that the first sequence before making her stand up at the end. I drew the image on the bottom right, paying attention to arm, leg and body stretch. It’s very sketchy but  found it really useful to do

weightlift

I think I should think about storyboarding the piece next before I do anymore prep work as I need to start working on things that will be in the actual animation

Leave a Reply

